New Talent Longlists 2017

Tuesday, October 24, 2017


Bad Day for the Cut, God’s Own Country, I Am Not a Witch, Lady Macbeth and Pin Cushion amongst most longlisted films

The British Independent Film Awards today revealed the longlists in its four prestigious new talent categories.


The Douglas Hickox Award (Debut Director)

Chris Baugh – Bad Day for the Cut
Andy Serkis – Breathe
Rafael Kapelinski – Butterfly Kisses
Harry Michell – Chubby Funny
Peter Mackie Burns – Daphne
Benjamin Barfoot – Double Date
Mark Gill – England Is Mine
Francis Lee – God’s Own Country
Ben Caird – Halfway
Rungano Nyoni – I Am Not a Witch
Jason Wingard – In Another Life
Thomas Napper – Jawbone
Rupert Jones – Kaleidoscope
William Oldroyd – Lady Macbeth
Sarmad Masud – My Pure Land
Dominic Cooke – On Chesil Beach
Deborah Haywood – Pin Cushion
Jenny Lu – The Receptionist

Best Debut Screenwriter

Chris Baugh, Brendan Mullin – Bad Day for the Cut
Harry Michell – Chubby Funny
Francis Lee – God’s Own Country
Ben Caird – Halfway
Rungano Nyoni – I Am Not a Witch
Johnny Harris – Jawbone
Peter Machen – Just Charlie
Alice Birch – Lady Macbeth
Tracy Moreton – Mad to Be Normal
Sarmad Masud – My Pure Land
Deborah Haywood – Pin Cushion
Nick Payne – The Sense of an Ending
Gaby Chiappe – Their Finest
Joe Martin – Us and Them
Joseph Adesunloye – White Colour Black

Breakthrough Producer sponsored by Creativity Media

Brendan Mullin, Katy Jackson – Bad Day for the Cut
Valentina Brazzini – Daphne
Paul Sng – Dispossession: The Great Social Housing Swindle
Baldwin Li – England Is Mine
Ameenah Ayub Allen, Andrea Luka Zimmerman – Erase and Forget
Jack Tarling, Manon Ardisson – God’s Own Country
Emily Morgan – I Am Not a Witch
Hannah Stevenson – In Another Life
Matthew Wilkinson – Kaleidoscope
Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly – Lady Macbeth
Gavin Humphries – Pin Cushion
Kurban Kassam – The Hungry
Joanna Laurie – The Limehouse Golem
Peter Kirby – The Receptionist
Hayley Reynolds, Sarah Hamilton – Williams

Most Promising Newcomer sponsored by The London EDITION

Nigel O’Neill – Bad Day for the Cut
Harry Michell – Chubby Funny
Hannah Rae – City of Tiny Lights
Adam Lawrence – England Is Mine
Will Tilston – Goodbye Christopher Robin
Harry Gilby – Just Charlie
Cosmo Jarvis – Lady Macbeth
Naomi Ackie – Lady Macbeth
Lily Newmark – Pin Cushion
Billy Howle – The Sense of an Ending
Dudley O’Shaughnessy – White Colour Black

Five films have been longlisted across the writing, directing and producing categories: Bad Day for the Cut, God’s Own Country, I Am Not a Witch, Lady Macbeth and Pin Cushion. Lady Macbeth is also the only film with two performers longlisted in the Most Promising Newcomer category (Cosmo Jarvis and Naomie Ackie).

Last year’s winners were Babak Anvari (Debut Director), Rachel Tunnard (Debut Screenwriter), Camille Gatin (Breakthrough Producer) and Hayley Squires (Most Promising Newcomer).

BIFA 2017 nominations will be announced by Maisie Williams and Hayley Squires on Wednesday 1 November. The winners will be unveiled at the ceremony on Sunday 10 December at Old Billingsgate, which will mark the 20th anniversary of the awards.


Latest News

Monday, March 30, 2020

#Lockdown: Where to Watch 200 BIFA-winning films online

Read more

Monday, March 30, 2020

#Lockdown: Watch BIFA-nominated shorts here

Read more

Wednesday, February 5, 2020

Job Opportunity: Awards & Events Coordinator

Read more