Tuesday, December 3, 2013



London, Tuesday 3rd December – The recipient of The Richard Harris Award was announced today by Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson, joint Directors, The Moët British Independent Film Awards. 

Julie Walters will receive The Richard Harris Award at the ceremony this Sunday 8th December at Old Billingsgate. 

The Richard Harris Award was introduced in 2002 in honour of Richard Harris and recognises outstanding contribution to British film by an actor. Previous winners have included John Hurt, David Thewlis, Bob Hoskins, Jim Broadbent, Daniel Day-Lewis, Helena Bonham Carter, Ralph Fiennes, and Michael Gambon in 2012. 

Julie Walters CBE who started out in TV working with comedian Victoria Wood has built a highly successful career spanning 4 decades becoming one of the UK’s most beloved actors in the process. She broke in to film with her BAFTA and Golden Globe winning performance in a supporting role in the 1984 international hit EDUCATING RITA where she starred alongside Sir Michael Caine. The role also earned her an Academy Award nomination. Walters was once again nominated for an Academy Award in 2001 for Stephen Daldry’s BILLY ELLIOT and that same year was cast as Molly Weasley in HARRY POTTER AND THE PHILOSOPHER’S STONE – a character she would continue to play for the next 10 years as the franchise became a global phenomenon. She has starred in some of British cinema’s greatest films including CALENDAR GIRLS in 2003, and one of the highest-grossing UK films of all time MAMMA MIA! Walters will next be seen as ‘Nan’ in THE HARRY HILL MOVIE out later this month, and plays Mrs Bird in the highly anticipated live-action drama PADDINGTON which is due for release in late 2014. 

Proud supporters and patrons of The Moët British Independent Film Awards include Mike Figgis, Tom Hollander, Adrian Lester, Ken Loach, Ewan McGregor, Helen Mirren, Samantha Morton, James Nesbitt, Michael Sheen, Trudie Styler, Tilda Swinton, Meera Syal, David Thewlis, Ray Winstone and Michael Winterbottom

The Moët British Independent Film Awards would like to thank all its supporters, especially: Moët & Chandon, BFI NET.WORK, 3 Mills Studios, BBC Films, Company 3, M.A.C Cosmetics, Raindance, Sanderson & St Martins Lane – Morgans Hotel Group, Soho House, Studiocanal, Swarovski, Variety, Wentworth Media and Arts, LightBrigade, AllCity and Intermission. 

Created by Raindance 

The winners will be announced at the much anticipated 16th awards ceremony which will be hosted by actor and BIFA Patron, James Nesbitt, who returns for his eighth year on Sunday 8th December at the impressive Old Billingsgate in London. 

The awards ceremony will be streamed exclusively live on www.film3sixty.com/moetbifa from 8.00pm 

Notes to the editor: 

In recognition of Moët & Chandon’s generous contribution as headline sponsor, the 2013 event is referred to as The MOËT British Independent Film Awards. 

Recognised for its quality and prestige, Moët & Chandon is the champagne of choice for celebration at international film festivals. The venerable house has captured the attention of Hollywood’s brightest stars since the birth of the film industry. Generations of legendary actors, actresses, producers and directors have celebrated their achievements with Moët & Chandon at the most significant and exclusive cinema events, including the Oscars & Golden Globes celebrations. 

For further information on MBIFA, visit www.bifa.org.uk 

For press information regarding The Moët British Independent Film Awards contact Emma McCorkell or Caragh Cook at Organic: 

emma.mccorkell@organic-publicity.co.uk caragh.cook@organic-publicity.co.uk 

+44 (0) 203 372 0970 

Images from the event can be downloaded from 


For press information regarding Moët & Chandon contact: 

Alexandra King. Alexandra.king@mhuk.co.uk 020 7808 4458 

For further information on Moët & Chandon, visit http://moet.com 

Current Rules & Eligibility: 

All films must be submitted for consideration by September 20th 2013. 

A feature film will be eligible for an Award if: 

It is intended for theatrical release, AND has had a public screening to a paying audience either on general release in the UK OR has screened at a British-based film festival between 1st December 2012 and 30th November 2013 

Where there is any major studio substantially funding a film, the total budget must not exceed $20M. Films are not defined as “independent” strictly on the terms of financing. 

It has been produced or majority co-produced by a British company OR is in receipt of at least 51% of its budget from a British source or sources OR it qualifies as a British Film under the DCMS guidelines AND includes sufficient creative elements from the UK 

A feature film must be no less than 70 minutes in length. 

Films that have been entered previously are not eligible. Re-issues of previously released films are not eligible. 

Best British Feature Documentary. In 2003 the British Independent Film Awards introduced this new award. Eligible films must be non-fiction. They should be photographed in actual occurrence, or employ partial re-enactment, stock footage, stills, animation, stop-motion or other techniques, as long as the emphasis is on fact and not on fiction. (Further eligibility criteria as with other feature films above). 

Best International Independent Film. BIFA also consider foreign independent films. Foreign films must have a British theatrical release during the eligibility period stated above 

The Douglas Hickox Award is to be given a British director for their debut feature film. The estate of Douglas Hickox shall present a cheque for £500 to the winner. 

British Short Film Award submissions: Any British short films that have won an award between the 10th October 2012 and 9th October 2013 are eligible for consideration. Any variations are at the sole discretion and recommendation of the film committee. A short film must be no longer than 40 minutes (including credits). 

All eligible films submitted for consideration will be viewed by the BIFA Pre-Selection Committee. Members vote by secret ballot firstly to draw up a long list then again to determine the nominations. All nominated films are then viewed by an independent Jury appointed each year. The winners are announced during the evening of the Awards Ceremony. 

The Special Jury Prize will be decided entirely at the Jury’s discretion. 

Variety Award recognises an actor, director, writer or producer who has helped to focus the international spotlight on the UK 

The Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution to British Film by an Actor (male/female) to be decided by the Advisory Committee with the input of the Harris family. 

Under exceptional circumstances, inclusion and consideration of films which do not strictly comply with the above criteria will be subject to the discretion of the British Independent Film Awards Advisory Committee. 

All decisions made by BIFA and its members are final and no correspondence will be entered into as 

to why particular entries were or were not nominated 

Latest News

Monday, January 20, 2020


Read more

Monday, January 13, 2020


Read more

Monday, December 2, 2019

Winners 2019

Read more