BIFA Best Debut Screenwriter 2016 Long List

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

We are excited to announce the long list for the BIFA Best Debut Screenwriter 2016 award.

This new award at BIFA highlights promising British screenwriting talent by celebrating their debut screenplays and recognising their future potential. There are 21 first-time feature film screenwriters long listed in this category for their work on 16 of this year’s top British independent films.

The five nominees in this category will be announced on Tuesday 1 November. The winner will be announced at the BIFA ceremony on Sunday 4 December. 

The long listed screenwriters and films are listed below. More information can be found in our piece in The Hollywood Reporter.


A Patch of Fog : John Cairns, Michael McCartney

Adult Life Skills : Rachel Tunnard

Away : Roger Hadfield

Florence Foster Jenkins : Nicholas Martin

K-Shop : Dan Pringle 

Mindhorn : Julian Barratt, Simon Farnaby

My Feral Heart : Duncan Paveling

The Chamber : Ben Parker

The Ghoul : Gareth Tunley

The Girl With All the Gifts : Mike Carey

The Greasy Strangler : Jim Hosking, Toby Harvard

The Levelling : Hope Dickson Leach

The Library Suicides : Fflur Dafydd

The Pass : John Donnelly

Tiger Raid  : Gareth Coulam Evans, Mick Donnellan, Simon Dixon

Yr Ymadawiad : Ed Talfan

Latest News

Monday, December 2, 2019

Winners 2019

Read more

Friday, November 29, 2019

State of the Nation

Read more

Thursday, November 28, 2019


Read more