2014 Submissions Open

Wednesday, April 30, 2014


Moe¨t & Chandon Return As Title Sponsors for the 5th year

London, 30th April 2014 – The Moe¨t British Independent Film Awards announced today that
this year’s Awards will be held on SUNDAY 7th DECEMBER 2014. Nominations will be
announced on Monday 3rd November 2014.

For the 5th year, the Awards will be sponsored by partner Moe¨t & Chandon.

The announcement coincides with the opening of film submissions for the 2014 Awards (see
below for eligibility)

Tessa Collinson & Johanna von Fischer, Joint Directors The Moe¨t British Independent Film
Awards commented; “As submissions get under way, it is exciting for us to see some of
the work and talent that will be honoured this year. We are delighted that Moe¨t &
Chandon are returning as our title sponsor again this year and are very thankful for their
continued support.”

Elsa Corbineau, Moe¨t & Chandon Marketing Director added; “We are delighted that this year
marks the 5th anniversary of our title sponsorship at the Moe¨t British Independent Film
Awards. Every year the calibre of films continues to inspire us with the richness they
represent. The industry’s support of the Awards manifests in the most glamorous of parties.
To this end we look forward to toasting to the success and style of all of the nominees with a
flute of Moe¨t & Chandon Impe´rial on December 7th.”

The first awards ceremony on the UK calendar, the 2013 edition recognised some incredible
British talent and filmmaking. METRO MANILA was the surprise winner collecting a trio of
awards including Best Achievement in Production, Best Director and the big prize of the
night; Best British Independent Film. Acting greats James McAvoy and Lindsay Duncan took home Best Actor and Best Actress trophies for their roles in FILTH and LE WEEKEND.
Julie Walters was awarded the coveted Richard Harris Award for outstanding contribution by
an actor to British film, and Paul Greengrass the Variety Award, which recognises an actor,
director, writer or producer who has helped to focus the international spotlight on the UK.

Now in its 17th year, the Awards were created by Raindance in 1998 and set out to celebrate
merit and achievement in independently funded British filmmaking, to honour new talent, and
to promote British films and filmmaking to a wider public.

Previous winners of the prestigious Best British Independent Film award include METRO

Proud supporters and patrons of The Moe¨t British Independent Film Awards include Mike
Figgis, Tom Hollander, Adrian Lester, Ken Loach, Ewan McGregor, Helen Mirren,
Samantha Morton, James Nesbitt, Michael Sheen, Trudie Styler, Tilda Swinton, Meera
Syal, David Thewlis, Ray Winstone
and Michael Winterbottom.

The Moe¨t British Independent Film Awards would like to thank all its supporters, especially: Moe¨t & Chandon, 3 Mills Studios, BBC Films, Company3, M.A.C, Raindance, St
Martins Lane, Soho House, Studiocanal, Swarovski, Variety, AllCity, Intermission
, and
LightBrigade Media.

Created by Raindance

Notes to the editor:

In recognition of Moe¨t & Chandon’s generous contribution as headline sponsor, the 2014
event is referred to as The MOE¨T British Independent Film Awards.

Recognised for its quality and prestige, Moe¨t & Chandon is the champagne of choice for
celebration at international film festivals. The venerable house has captured the attention of
Hollywood’s brightest stars since the birth of the film industry. Generations of legendary
actors, actresses, producers and directors have celebrated their achievements with Moe¨t &
Chandon at the most significant and exclusive cinema events, including the Oscars & Golden Globes celebrations.

For press information regarding The Moe¨t British Independent Film Awards contact
Emma McCorkell or Caragh Cook at Organic:
+44 (0) 203 372 0976 / +44 (0) 203 372 0986
Images from the 2013 Awards ceremony are available to download from 


For press information regarding Moe¨t & Chandon contact:

Alexandra King. Alexandra.king@mhuk.co.uk +44(0) 20 7808 4458 

For further information on MBIFA, visit www.bifa.org.uk

For further information on Moe¨t & Chandon, visit http://moet.com 

For further information on Raindance, visit www.raindance.org

Current Rules & Eligibility:

All films must be submitted for consideration by September 19th 2014.

A feature film will be eligible for an Award if:

It is intended for theatrical release, AND has had a public screening to a paying audience
either on general release in the UK OR has screened at a British-based film festival
between 1st December 2013 and 30th November 2014.

Where there is any major studio substantially funding a film, the total budget must not
exceed $20M. Films are not defined as “independent” strictly on the terms of financing.

It has been produced or majority co-produced by a British company OR is in receipt of at
least 51% of its budget from a British source or sources OR it qualifies as a British Film
under the DCMS guidelines AND includes sufficient creative elements from the UK

A feature film must be no less than 70 minutes in length.

Films that have been entered previously are not eligible. Re-issues of previously released
films are not eligible.

Best British Feature Documentary. In 2003 the British Independent Film Awards introduced
this new award. Eligible films must be non-fiction. They should be photographed in actual
occurrence, or employ partial re-enactment, stock footage, stills, animation, stop-motion or
other techniques, as long as the emphasis is on fact and not on fiction. (Further eligibility
criteria as with other feature films above).

Best International Independent Film. BIFA also consider foreign independent films. Foreign
films must have a British theatrical release during the eligibility period stated above

The Douglas Hickox Award is to be given a British director for their debut feature film. The
estate of Douglas Hickox shall present a cheque for £500 to the winner.

British Short Film Award submissions: Any British short film that has been accepted as part
of the Official Selection at one of BIFAs recognised film festivals [See bifa.org.uk] OR has
won an award during the eligibility period. Any variations are at the sole discretion of BIFA. A
short film must be no longer than 40 minutes (including credits).

All eligible films submitted for consideration will be viewed by the BIFA Pre-Selection
Committee. Members vote by secret ballot firstly to draw up a long list then again to
determine the nominations. All nominated films are then viewed by an independent Jury
appointed each year. The winners are announced during the evening of the Awards
Ceremony. [See Voting Policy]

The Special Jury Prize will be decided entirely at the Jury’s discretion.

Variety Award recognises an actor, director, writer or producer who has helped to focus the
international spotlight on the UK

The Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution to British Film by an Actor
(male/female) to be decided by the Advisory Committee with the input of the Harris family.

Under exceptional circumstances, inclusion and consideration of films which do not strictly
comply with the above criteria will be subject to the discretion of the British Independent Film
Awards Advisory Committee.

All decisions made by BIFA and its members are final and no correspondence will be
entered into as to why particular entries were or were not nominated.

For further information on MBIFA, visit www.bifa.org.uk 

Latest News

Monday, December 2, 2019

Winners 2019

Read more

Friday, November 29, 2019

State of the Nation

Read more

Thursday, November 28, 2019


Read more