2011 Bifa Confirms a Two Year Partnership With Title Sponsor Moët & Chandon

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

27 September 2011









London, Tuesday 27th September, 2011 – Moët & Chandon has confirmed a continued relationship with The Moët British Independent Film Awards as the event’s title sponsor.  The awards ceremony will return to Old Billingsgate on Sunday 4th December, 2011 to celebrate this year’s achievements in independent film.  Johanna von Fischer and TessaCollinson, directors of The Moët British Independent Film Awards, made the announcement today. 


2010 saw Moët & Chandon debut as the award ceremony’s first ever title sponsor, where film’s including Monsters and Never Let Me Go were amongst the evening’s winners and The Kings Speech won the Moet & Chandon Best British Independent Film Award.


Nominations for this year’s awards will be announced on Monday 31st October, 2011.


Johanna von Fisher and Tessa Collinson said: “We couldn’t be happier to be continuing our partnership with Moët & Chandon.  The organisation’s ongoing commitment and support to the film community is unwavering and we are very grateful to be working with them again in this capacity.  We are excited to be enjoying an outstanding year for British cinema and look forward to honouring these achievements in December.”


Elsa Corbineau, Marketing Director at Moët & Chandon UK added: “We are delighted to return as the title sponsor of The Moët British Independent Film Awards.  Having long supported cinema, joining the Award’s annual toast to talent within the British Film Industry is an important part of our year round global commitment to the arts.  It’s a fitting partnership and a fabulous party!  We’re thrilled to be extending the relationship for another two years.”


Moët & Chandon’s philanthropic initiative “Toast for a Cause” will return; where winners and nominees are invited to raise funds for their favourite charities by toasting with a mini bottle of Moët & Chandon.  Last year’s participants included Best Actress winner Carey Mulligan, Best Actor winner Colin Firth, Best Supporting Actress winner Helena Bonham Carter and presenter Ralph Fiennes, amongst other celebrity attendees.



Now in its 14th year, the Awards were created in 1998 and set out to celebrate merit and achievement in independently funded British filmmaking, to honour new talent, and to promote British films and filmmaking to a wider public.


Previous winners of the coveted Best British Independent Film award include The King’s Speech, Moon, Control, Slumdog Millionaire, The Constant Gardener and This is England


Recognised for its quality and prestige, Moët & Chandon is the champagne of choice for celebration at international film festivals. The venerable house has capturedthe attention of Hollywood’s brightest stars since the birth of the film industry. Generations of legendary actors, actresses, producers and directors have celebrated their achievements with Moët & Chandon at the most significant and exclusive cinema events, including the OscarsÒ& Golden GlobesÒcelebrations. 


Proud supporters and patrons of The Moët British Independent Film Awards includeMike Figgis, Tom Hollander, Adrian Lester, Ken Loach, Ewan McGregor, HelenMirren, Samantha Morton, Michael Sheen, Trudie Styler, Tilda SwintonMeeraSyal, David Thewlis, Ray Winstone and Michael Winterbottom.


The Moët British Independent Film Awards would like to thank all its supporters, especially: Moët & Chandon, The British Film Institute, 3 Mills Studios, BBC Films, The Creative Partnership, Deluxe142, Exile Media, M.A.CRaindance, Soho House,Studiocanal, Swarovski, Variety, Working Title and Zander Creative.




For press information regarding The Moët British Independent Film Awards contact Emma McCorkell or Caragh Cook at Organic Marketing:

For press information regarding Moët & Chandon contact:

Meritaten Mancemeri.mance@mhk.co.uk+44 (0)7977 561 837


For further information on BIFA, visit www.bifa.org.uk

For further information on Moët & Chandon, visit http://moet.com


ELIGIBILITY: A film will be eligible for an Award if:

  • it is intended for theatrical release, AND has had a public screening to a paying audience either on general release in the UK OR has screened at a British-based film festival between 1st December 2010 and 30th November 2011
  • where there is any major studio substantially funding a film, the total budget must not exceed $20M
  • it has been produced or majority co-produced by a British company OR is in receipt of at least 51% of its budget from a British source or sources OR it qualifies as a British Film under the DCMS guidelines AND includes sufficient creative elements from the UK
  • BIFA also consider foreign independent films for the Best Foreign Independent Film category. Foreign films must have a British theatrical release during the eligibility period stated above
  • British Short Film Award submissions: Any British short films that have won an award between the 16th October 2010 and 15th October 2011 are eligible for consideration. Any variations are at the sole discretion and recommendation of the film committee. A short film must be no longer than 40 minutes (including credits).

All films submitted for consideration will be viewed by the Advisory Committee with the help of a nominated screening panel, who will then decide the nominations by ballot. All nominated films will be viewed by an independent Jury. The winners will be decided by secret ballot.


Full Eligibility Criteria may be viewed at: http://www.bifa.org.uk/rules

Latest News

Monday, December 2, 2019

Winners 2019

Read more

Friday, November 29, 2019

State of the Nation

Read more

Thursday, November 28, 2019


Read more