2009 Venue and Host announced 12th British Independent Film Awards

Sunday, September 20, 2009


On Sunday 6 December 2009, the British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs) will celebrate the best of British film talent with an awards ceremony hosted by James Nesbitt, at The Brewery, Chiswell Street, in London. On Monday 26th October 2009 from 12.30 – 2.30pm, Nominations and this year’s jury will be announced in central London.

Proud supporters and patrons of BIFA include Mike Figgis, Tom Hollander, Adrian Lester, Ken Loach, Ewan McGregor, Helen Mirren, Samantha Morton, Bill Nighy, Michael Sheen, Trudie Styler, Tilda Swinton, Meera Syal, David Thewlis, Ray Winstone and Michael Winterbottom.

BIFA was created by Raindance in 1998

For further information on BIFA, please go to www.bifa.org.uk

Press Information: Zoe Flower or Elizabeth Benjamin at Emfoundation: 
zoe@emfoundation.com / elizabeth@emfoundation.com / 020 7247 4171


A film will be eligible for an Award if:

– It is intended for theatrical release, AND has had a public screening to a paying audience either on general release in the UK OR has screened at a British-based film festival between 1st December 2008 and 30th November 2009
– Where there is any major studio substantially funding a film, the total budget must not exceed £10M
– It has been produced or majority co-produced by a British company OR is in receipt of at least 51% of its budget from a British source or sources OR it qualifies as a British film under the DCMS guidelines AND includes sufficient creative elements from the UK
– BIFA also consider foreign independent films for the Best Foreign Independent Film category. Foreign films must have a British theatrical release during the eligibility period stated above
– Best British Short Film Award submissions: Any British short films that have won an award between the 16th October 2008 and 15th October 2009 are eligible for consideration. A short film must be no longer than 40 minutes (including credits). 
– Films that have been entered previously are not eligible. Re-issues of previously released films are not eligible
All films submitted for consideration will be viewed by the Advisory Committee with the help of a nominated screening panel. The Advisory Committee will then decide the nominations by ballot.
All nominated films will be viewed by the Jury. The winners will be decided by a secret ballot.

Full Eligibility Criteria may be viewed at: http://www.bifa.org.uk/rules 

Latest News

Thursday, August 1, 2019

BIFA Receives Raising Films Ribbon

Read more

Wednesday, July 17, 2019

BIFA Announces 2019 Programme of Unconscious Bias Training

Read more

Friday, June 21, 2019

BIFA 2019 Feature Film Entries Open

Read more