2008 Date Announced 11th British Independent Film Awards

Tuesday, July 1, 2008


On Sunday 30 November 2008, the British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs) will celebrate the best of British film talent with an awards ceremony hosted by James Nesbitt, at Old Billingsgate Market in London.   Nominations and this year’s jury will be announced at the end of October.

Directors Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson said “Old Billingsgate is an exciting new space for us in another part of London and lends itself perfectly to the vibrant yet intimate party atmosphere that BIFA has always been known for”.

With ever increasing international recognition, BIFA has become a stamp of quality for British independent film.  The Awards celebrate the outstanding talent of both established and emerging filmmakers together with the wealth of acting talent working in British film.

Last year BIFA successfully celebrated its 10th anniversary with a memorable awards ceremony and party at the Roundhouse.  Winners included Anton Corbijn (Douglas Hickox and Best Director Awards forControl), Judi Dench (Best Actress for Notes on a Scandal), Ray Winstone (The Richard Harris Award) and Daniel Craig (The Variety Award). 

Proud supporters and patrons of BIFA include Tilda Swinton, Ray Winstone, Mike Figgis, Tom Hollander, Adrian Lester, Ken Loach, Ewan McGregor, Samantha Morton, Bill Nighy, Trudie Styler, Meera Syal and Michael Winterbottom.

For further press information, please contact Zoe Flower or Keeley Naylor at Emfoundation:

zoe@emfoundation.com / keeley@emfoundation.com / 020 7247 4171

For further information on BIFA, please go to www.bifa.org.uk



A film will be eligible for an Award if:

–       It is intended for theatrical release, AND has had a public screening to a paying audience either on general release in the UK OR has screened at a British-based film festival between 1st December 2007 and 30th November 2008

–       Where there is any major studio substantially funding a film, the total budget must not exceed £10M ($20M)

–       It has been produced or majority co-produced by a British company OR is in receipt of at least 51% of its budget from a British source or sources OR it qualifies as a British film under the DCMS guidelines AND includes sufficient creative elements from the UK

–       BIFA also consider foreign independent films for the Best Foreign Independent Film category. Foreign films must have a British theatrical release during the eligibility period stated above

–       Films that have been entered previously are not eligible. Re-issues of previously released films are not eligible

All films submitted for consideration will be viewed by the Advisory Committee with the help of a nominated screening panel. The Advisory Committee will then decide the nominations by ballot.

All nominated films will be viewed by the Jury. The winners will be decided by a secret ballot. In the case of a tie, a deciding vote will be cast by the Jury Chairperson.

Best British Short Film Award submissions: Any short film that has won an award at a British-based film festival between 15th October 2007 and 16th October 2008 is eligible for consideration. A short film must be no longer than 40 minutes (including credits).

Latest News

Monday, December 2, 2019

Winners 2019

Read more

Friday, November 29, 2019

State of the Nation

Read more

Thursday, November 28, 2019


Read more