2005 Three New Jurors Announced 8th British Independent Film Awards

Wednesday, November 9, 2005

Three New Jurors for 2005

The British Film Independent Awards are pleased to announce three new jurors; Beeban Kidron, Alan Cumming, and Tom Hunsinger.

Beeban Kidron began directing in the late 1980s. She received critical acclaim for her TV film; “Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit.” Later, when it went through the festival circuit, she received the British Academy Award. In 1992, she directed her second feature film, “Antonia and Jane.” Her Hollywood debut was in 1992, with the offbeat comedy-drama, “Used People.” She continued success in the U.S. with films like “Too Wong Foo, Thanks for Everything, Julie Newmar” and the highly popular “Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason.”

Alan Cumming, is no stranger to stage, television, and film acting. He was a member of several repertory companies, including the Royal Shakespeare Company. He became widely noticed in films like “Circle of Friends,” “Emma,” and “Romy & Michelle’s High School Reunion.” On stage, he received further critical acclaim from his role as the Emcee in “Cabaret.” Aside from his many acting accomplishments, he directed and co-wrote “The Anniversary Party” in 2001 with Jennifer Jason Leigh, which earned him two nominations for Best First Feature and Best First Screenplay at the Independent Spirit Awards.

Tom Hunsinger made his directorial debut with his film, Boyfriends, which he co-wrote and directed with Neil Hunter. They received Best Feature Film at the Torino International Gay and Lesbian Film Festival. In 2001, the duo had enormous success again with “Lawless Hearts,” which they wrote and directed. Some awards received for the film included Best Screenplay at the British Independent Film Awards and the Evening Standard British Film Awards. He was also nominated for best Director from BIFA as well as the Golden Hitchcock Award at the Dinard British Film Festival.

Latest News

Monday, January 20, 2020


Read more

Monday, January 13, 2020


Read more

Monday, December 2, 2019

Winners 2019

Read more