Wednesday, May 8, 2013





Moët & Chandon Return As Title Sponsors

London, Wednesday 8th May 2013 – The Moët
British Independent Film Awards announced today that this year’s awards will be
held on SUNDAY 8th DECEMBER 2013. Nominations will be announced on Monday 11th
November 2013.

For the fourth year, the Awards will be
sponsored by partner Moët & Chandon. 

The announcement coincides with the opening
of film submissions for the 2013 Awards (see below for eligibility)

Tessa Collinson & Johanna von Fischer,
Joint Directors, The Moët British Independent Film Awards commented: “We are looking
forward to another great year, it’s always an exciting time when submissions
open and the films are presented for viewing, often for the first time to our
members.  We also thank Moet for their
continued support.”

Elsa Corbineau, Moët & Chandon
Marketing Director added; “Synonymous with the glamour of cinema and the
fabulous celebration of award season, Moët & Chandon is present at
prestigious film events across the globe. We are delighted to see our
collaboration with BIFA grow into its fourth year and look forward to a long
term partnership toasting the best of British film talent.”

The first awards ceremony on the UK
calendar, the 2012 edition led the way in honouring some incredible British talent
and filmmaking. Bart Layton picked up the The Douglas Hickox Award for Best
Debut Director for THE IMPOSTER.

BROKEN took home the coveted Best British
Independent Film with Peter Strickland picking up Best Director for BERBERIAN
; Andrea Riseborough won Best Actress for SHADOW DANCER and Toby
Jones won Best Actor for BERBERIAN SOUND STUDIO. Olivia Colman collected
her second BIFA in two years, this time for Best Supporting Actress for HYDE
and Rory Kinnear took home Best Supporting Actor for BROKEN.


Now in its 16th year, the Awards were
created by Raindance in 1998 and set out to celebrate merit and achievement in
independently funded British filmmaking, to honour new talent, and to promote
British films and filmmaking to a wider public.


Previous winners of the prestigious Best
British Independent Film award include Tyrannosaur, The King’s Speech, Moon,
Control, Slumdog Millionaire, The Constant Gardener and This Is England. 


Proud supporters and patrons of The Moët
British Independent Film Awards include Mike Figgis, Tom Hollander, Adrian
Lester, Ken Loach, Ewan McGregor, Helen Mirren, Samantha Morton, James Nesbitt,
Michael Sheen, Trudie Styler, Tilda Swinton, Meera Syal, David Thewlis, Ray
Winstone and Michael Winterbottom.


The Moët British Independent Film Awards
would like to thank all its supporters, especially: Moët & Chandon, 3 Mills
Studios, BBC Films, Company3, M.A.C, Raindance, Sanderson & St Martins Lane – Morgans
Hotel Group, Soho House, Studiocanal, Swarovski, Variety, AllCity, Intermission.


Created by Raindance

Notes to the editor:

In recognition of Moët & Chandon’s
generous contribution as headline sponsor, the 2013 event is referred to as The
MOËT British Independent Film Awards.

Recognised for its quality and prestige,
Moët & Chandon is the champagne of choice for celebration at international
film festivals. The venerable house has captured the attention of Hollywood’s
brightest stars since the birth of the film industry. Generations of legendary
actors, actresses, producers and directors have celebrated their achievements
with Moët & Chandon at the most significant and exclusive cinema events,
including the OscarsÒ & Golden GlobesÒ celebrations. 

For press information regarding The Moët
British Independent Film Awards contact Emma McCorkell or Caragh Cook at



+44 (0) 203 372 0976 / +44 (0) 203 372 0986

Images from the 2012 Awards ceremony are
available to download from


For press information regarding Moët & Chandon

Alexandra King.  Alexandra.king@mhuk.co.uk
+44(0) 20 7808 4458

For further information on MBIFA, visit www.bifa.org.uk

For further information on Moët & Chandon,
visit http://moet.com

For further information on Raindance, visit


Current Rules & Eligibility:

All films must be submitted for
consideration by September 20th 2013. 

A feature film will be eligible for an
Award if:  

It is intended for theatrical release, AND
has had a public screening to a paying audience either on general release in
the UK OR has screened at a British-based film festival between 1st
December 2012 and 30th November 2013

Where there is any major studio
substantially funding a film, the total budget must not exceed $20M. Films are
not defined as “independent” strictly on the terms of financing.

It has been produced or majority
co-produced by a British company OR is in receipt of at least 51% of its budget
from a British source or sources OR it qualifies as a British Film under
the DCMS guidelines AND includes sufficient creative elements from
the UK

A feature film must be no less than 70
minutes in length.

Films that have been entered previously are
not eligible. Re-issues of previously released films are not eligible.

Best British Feature Documentary. In
2003 the British Independent Film Awards introduced this new award. Eligible
films must be non-fiction. They should be photographed in actual occurrence, or
employ partial re-enactment, stock footage, stills, animation, stop-motion or
other techniques, as long as the emphasis is on fact and not on fiction.
(Further eligibility criteria as with other feature films above).

Best International Independent Film.
BIFA also consider foreign independent films. Foreign films must have a
British theatrical release during the eligibility period stated above

The Douglas Hickox Award is to be
given a British director for their debut feature film. The estate of
Douglas Hickox shall present a cheque for £500 to
the winner. 

British Short Film Award submissions: Any
British short films that have won an award between the 10th October 2012
and 9th October 2013 are eligible for consideration. Any variations are at
the sole discretion and recommendation of the film committee. A short film must
be no longer than 40 minutes (including credits).

All eligible films submitted for
consideration will be viewed by the BIFA Pre-Selection Committee. 
Members vote by secret ballot firstly to draw up a long list then again to
determine the nominations. All nominated films are then viewed by an
independent Jury appointed each year. The winners are announced during the
evening of the Awards Ceremony.

The Special Jury Prize will be decided
entirely at the Jury’s discretion.

Variety Award recognises an actor,
director, writer or producer who has helped to focus the international
spotlight on the UK 

The Richard Harris Award for Outstanding
Contribution to British Film by an Actor (male/female) to be decided by the
Advisory Committee with the input of the Harris family.

Under exceptional circumstances, inclusion
and consideration of films which do not strictly comply with the above criteria
will be subject to the discretion of the British Independent Film Awards
Advisory Committee.


For further information on MBIFA, visit www.bifa.org.uk


Latest News

Monday, December 2, 2019

Winners 2019

Read more

Friday, November 29, 2019

State of the Nation

Read more

Thursday, November 28, 2019


Read more