2012 Date Announced for the Moët British Independent Film Awards

Saturday, March 17, 2012

17 February 2012



Moët & Chandon Return As Title Sponsors

London, Thursday 16th February – With the Awards season well underway The Moët British Independent Film Awards announced today that this year’s awards will be held on Sunday 9th December 2012.

For the third year, the Awards will be sponsored by partner Moët & Chandon. 

Tessa Collinson & Johanna von Fischer, Joint Directors The Moët British Independent Film Awards commented: “With Moët & Chandon confirmed as the title sponsors for our 15th  Anniversary Awards ceremony we can really look forward celebrating the very best of British film and film talent in style for 2012.”

Always the first awards ceremony on the UK calendar, the 2011 edition led the way in honouring some incredible British talent and filmmaking.  Paddy Considine picked up The Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director and was also triumphant at the weekend where he was awarded the BAFTA for Outstanding Debut for his exceptional first feature Tyrannosaur.

At the Moët BIFA’s Tyrannosaur also won the coveted Best British Independent Film, with Lynne Ramsay taking home Best Director for We Need to Talk About Kevin, Olivia Colman Best Actress for Tyrannosaur and Michael Fassbender Best Actorfor Shame. Vanessa Redgrave won Best Supporting Actress for Coriolanus and Michael Smiley Best Supporting Actor for Kill List.

Now in its 15th year, the Awards were created by Raindance in 1998 and set out to celebrate merit and achievement in independently funded British filmmaking, to honour new talent, and to promote British films and filmmaking to a wider public.


Previous winners of the prestigious Best British Independent Film award include The King’s Speech, Moon, Control, Slumdog Millionaire, The Constant Gardener andThis Is England. 


Recognised for its quality and prestige, Moët & Chandon is the champagne of choice for celebration at international film festivals. The venerable house has captured the attention of Hollywood’s brightest stars since the birth of the film industry. Generations of legendary actors, actresses, producers and directors have celebrated their achievements with Moët & Chandon at the most significant and exclusive cinema events, including the OscarsÒ & Golden GlobesÒ celebrations. 

Proud supporters and patrons of The Moët British Independent Film Awards includeMike Figgis, Tom Hollander, Adrian Lester, Ken Loach, Ewan McGregor, Helen Mirren, Samantha Morton, James Nesbitt, Michael Sheen, Trudie Styler, Tilda Swinton, Meera Syal, David Thewlis, Ray Winstone and Michael Winterbottom.

The Moët British Independent Film Awards would like to thank all its supporters, especially: Moët & Chandon, The British Film Institute, 3 Mills Studios, BBC Films, Company 3, The Creative Partnership, Exile Media, M.A.C, Raindance, Soho House, Studiocanal, Swarovski, Variety, Working Title and Zander Creative.


For press information regarding The Moët British Independent Film Awards contact Emma McCorkell or Caragh Cook at Organic Marketing:

emma.mccorkell@organic-marketing.co.uk  caragh.cook@organic-marketing.co.uk +44 (0) 203 372 0976


For press information regarding Moët & Chandon contact:

Alexandra King  alexandra.king@mhuk.co.uk +44 (0) 20 7808 4458

For further information on BIFA, visit www.bifa.org.uk

For further information on Moët & Chandon, visit http://moet.com

For further information on Raindance, visit www.raindance.org  

Latest News

Monday, December 2, 2019

Winners 2019

Read more

Friday, November 29, 2019

State of the Nation

Read more

Thursday, November 28, 2019


Read more